NACP-I (1992-1999):

  • This was the first effort in India to develop a National public Health programme in HIV/AIDS prevention and control.
  • NACP-I sought to provide certain services on Awareness through:
  • education campaigns,
  • condom promotion,
  • Mass Media Campaigns
  • Cultural Programmes


NACP-II (1999-2007):

  • The focus of NACP-II moved from the more diffuse goal of generating awareness on HIV prevention, to Targetted interventions.
  • The targetted intervention was meant to change the  behaviour in High Risk Groups like:
  • Female Sex Workers (FSWs)
  • Intravenous Drug Users (IDUs)
  • Men Having Sex with Men (MSMs)
  • Bridge Population (Migrant Labours & Truckers)
  • Voluntary counselling and testing centres (VCTCs) were introduced early in NACP-II.
  • STI Clinics were also established under NACP-II.


NACP-III (2007-2012):

  • The third stage of the National AIDS Control Programme was mainly focused on infrastructure strengthening at facility levels like:
  • Blood Banks.
  • Integrated Counselling & Testing Centers (ICTCs)/PPTCTs.
  • Sexually Transmitted Infection Centers (STI Clinics).
  • ARTs
  • Reduction of new infections to 60% in high prevalence States & 40% in low prevalence States.


NACP-IV (2012-2017):

  • Comprehensive Care Support & Treatment to all persons living with HIV/AIDS through inter-sectoral coordination/integration.
  • Reduction of new infections by 50%.
  • Reduction of stigma & discrimination at Health care setting, workplaces & at educational institutions.
  • Legal frame work promoting the rights of PLHIVs and marginalised and vulnerable population will be strengthened.